I see reading as a hobby – an enjoyment.  So my rating system reflects that.

2018 Ratings:

I go with my gut on what rating to give.  It strictly reflects my enjoyment of the book.

2017 Ratings:

1 – I did not like the book and I probably DNF’d the book.

3 – I liked the book but I don’t plan on re-reading it.

5 – I loved the book and plan on re-reading it.

(this is out of 5)

As you see, I don’t both with 2 or 4 ratings.  I keep it plain and simple.